Advertisement: Click here to learn how to Generate Art From Text
It’s a Searchable Log of All Conversations and KnowledgeWe are just living in it.
SlackYour secrets are safe with us. Your trash talking DMs, your business plans made with the boss, numerous untold corporate musings — they all fill the San Francisco-based company’s servers, waiting to be viewed by a The nosey CEO, a skilled HackerThe. entire world.
Like most online services, the communications platform many rely on to stay in touch with their friends and for work is a privacy disaster just waiting to happen. You may not have a say in whether or not you use this tool, but you can lock down its privacy settings before it’s too much.
1. Bosses are reading your DMs
Slack’s paid plans are usually available for those who use it at work. This differs from the free version — which, say, your D&D crew might utilize to coordinate campaigns and meet ups — in several important ways.
The first is that your boss may be able to see your direct messages if you have the paid version. The first step to keeping your DMs private is to determine if this feature is enabled. There is a way to accomplish this.
While signed into Slack in a web browser, head to slack.com/account/team and then click on “Retention & Exports.” Scroll down and click on “What data my admins can access.” You’ll get the answer.
You’re in blast mode
If the page says only that PublicationsYour boss cannot access your DMs because data can be exported. If it says, “Workspace owners can also export messages or files from private channel and direct messages,” your corporate overlords are able to pull your direct message.
2. Retention settings
Now that you know your boss can read direct messages, it’s time to move on. It’s a shame, but it’s not all bad. There are several ways to protect yourself or at least minimize the harm that this will cause.
To begin with, you need to adjust the so called retention settings on You can find out more about it here.Your direct messages. Slack allows workspace owners (i.e. the person managing your company’s Slack account) the ability to determine how long messages — both in public channels and direct messages — are saved. It could be 90 days or forever, for example. The workspace owner can allow users to change the settings for conversations that they are a part.
If you’ve been granted this power, then you can and should change this setting within your direct messages. Imagine this: If your boss wanted to see all of your direct messages, it would be better if he had a record of them for years. Or only the last 24 hours? Yeah, exactly.
Click on the gear icon at the top-right corner of the conversation and then select “edit the message retention.” Select “Use Custom Retention Settings for This Conversation” and then choose the shortest time period possible.
Your messages are now deleted automatically after 24 hour. Note that this does not necessarily mean the messages have been deleted from Slack’s servers (they probably aren’t), but they shouldn’t be accessible to the workspace owner after a single day.
This is something you’ll have to do for every direct message conversation. But it’s quick and worth it.
3. Encrypt it
Slack doesn’t offer end-to-end encrypted messages.
Shhlack is a free browser add-on that can help you get around this problem. The extension is available for ChromeIt’s easy to use and means that your private messages won’t be readable in cleartext when your boss — or hackers — takes a peek. It’s pretty simple to use, and means your private convos won’t be viewable in cleartext when your boss — or hackers — takes a peek.
It is important to note that the GitHub page“This is an ongoing and experimental project” which you should “take with a grain of sand.” If you need to keep your messages 100% private for any reason, such as your job, or corporate secrets, then you will want to take more drastic privacy measures.
4. Change of venue
This is not a setting, but a piece of straight-up advice. Listen up: any message that could get you into trouble if it were made public should never be sent through Slack.
Instead, create a private Slack (with a brief retention setting!)You can also get the phone number of the person you want to talk to and message them via the encrypted messaging application. Signal. You can make encrypted phone calls using the Free app, create large group threads, send documents, conduct video chats and set messages to delete automatically after a certain amount of time.
There’s a desktop application if you don’t like typing with your fingers.
5. You can’t remove your problem comments
Editing Slack after the fact might seem like an easy way to remove any potentially harmful content. Guess what? Some Slack accounts keep track of edits and messages before they are edited.
If you know if this option is enabled, you can avoid making the mistake that you are in the clear, when in reality, all you have done is make it obvious that you are trying to cover up your tracks.
They know what changes you are making.
Credit: Screenshot / Slack
While logged into your Slack account, go to https://my.slack.com/account/workspace-settings and click “Retention & Exports.” You’ll find all the answers you need here.
Slack has a number of settings that can affect the message you send. But it’s still best to think before you send a message.
Keeping your account safe means keeping it private. Protecting your Account with two-factor authenticationIt’s a great way to keep hackers, snoopers and other intruders out.
You can also read about how to get started. Set it up, when signed in, head to my.slack.com/account/settings. If you are able to activate the feature, you will see an “Two Factor Authentication” button. Click “expand,” then follow the prompts. You’ll need an authenticator app on your phone to make this work. Tonnage It is safe You can find out more about this by clicking here.Slack is a great tool for collaboration.
Trust me: you really want to enable this security feature.
7. A new slate
Let’s say that you want to leave Slack. Or, you’re leaving your company and won’t be using this Slack account anymore. You may think that deleting an account will delete all your personal information, but this isn’t true.
It is better to ask for the workspace’s “primary” owner. Ask Slack to delete your profile info.
“When members leave an workspace or organization, they may be able to request that their profile information is deleted by the primary owners.” What is the company?. “As the primary owner, it is up to him/her to decide whether or not profile information should be deleted.”
Once you’ve made that decision, you’re free to enjoy your privacy.
UPDATE Jan. 22, 2024 5:55 PM AEDT This article was first published in July 2019 and has been updated since Jan. 2024.